AAS Business & Membership Committees in collaboration with HSBC Bank organised the first joint networking event on Thursday, 16th of June 2011, at the HSBC Collyer Quay Premier Centre.

This event attracted members as well as 8 Presidents from 21 Australian University Alumni Chapters. Mr Bill Johnston who represented the Head of Onshore Banking – HSBC Bank interacted with key members of the Australian Alumni community. In his opening address, he opined how AAS should organise events that will enhance a sustainable long term collaborative partnership with HSBC and how HSBC as a world’s largest local bank can explore business opportunities with AAS members.

Next, Mr Michael Yap, Chairman of the Business Committee, expressed much delight and said he was encouraged by the turnout of more than 45 guests comprising a diverse group of bankers, corporate executives, entrepreneurs and young professionals from a cross spectrum of industries.

He further elaborated that, although the night’s gathering was only confined to invited guests, the occasion entered a new phase for AAS as the Business & Membership Committees were taking a fresh approach to engage with all Australian Universities graduates. This event would bring valuable experience to these two working committees, in their effort to understand the needs of its members. The feedback from representatives present would help organisers focus their attention on developing platforms where members can grow their business network, thus fostering a “value-add” proposition. He also assured that future events will be extended to all AAS members.

In concluding, Mr Yap paid tribute to recipients of the inaugural “Distinguished Alumni Service Award” given by the Australian Trade Commission in March this year. These awards were given to outstanding Australian graduates who have distinguished themselves in rendering excellent sustainable services to its predecessor institutions and alumni community. He said that we were indeed very proud that out of the 5 awardees, 4 were connected with AAS. Mr Bill Chua & Mr Seah Kim Swee, members of the Business Committee, were nominated by University of Newcastle and Victoria University, respectively, for contributions made to their universities. Ms Peggy Tan & Mr Simon Ho were nominated by AAS for contributions made to the Australian Alumni community in Singapore.

Members could look forward to more exciting programmes from this AAS-HSBC collaboration. Keep tuned in to our AAS website.

Ally Loo

Member of AAS Management & Business Committees