Australian Alumni Singapore 56th Anniversary Dinner

The 56th Anniversary Dinner of the Australian Alumni Singapore (AAS) held on 26 October 2011 at the Raffles Town Club Dunearn Ballroom was another memorable event in the history of AAS. The Guest-of-Honour was none other than the President of the Republic of Singapore, HE Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam, an AAS Patron. He was accompanied by his lovely wife, Mrs Mary Tan.

At this double celebratory event attended by 400 university alumni and guests, AAS and University Alumni Presidents took the opportunity to honour and share the joy with HE Dr Tan for being the newly-elected President of the Republic of Singapore and thank him for his continued support for AAS and his passionate engagement with younger Australian University graduates.

As the e-Banner with the Congratulatory Message flanked by logos of the different university alumni associations was being flashed on the screen, HE President Tony Tan Keng Yam stepped forward to receive a Memento, jointly presented by AAS President Loh Hoon Sun and Adelaide University Alumni Association Singapore President Louis Lim. President Tan is a recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award 2003 given by the University of Adelaide of which he is an alumnus; and a recipient of the Distinguished Australian Alumnus Award 2010 given by Australian Alumni Singapore.

President Tan was presented with a copy of a colourful photography book of 55 orchids aptly titled “Orchids of Splendour – A Face of Singapore” by Mr Simon Ho, Immediate Past President of AAS. The book was sold that evening at a special price of S$10 a copy, proceeds of which will be donated to The Straits Times School Pocket Money Fund.

Before returning to his seat, President Tan joined AAS’ other Patron, HE Mr Doug Chester, the Australian High Commissioner to Singapore; AAS President Loh Hoon Sun, and Management and Working Committee members in cutting of the Anniversary Cake.

Formalities aside, guests were kept entertained by teachers from the Seimpi School of Music. Their vocal and musical renditions of popular classics and evergreen tunes blended in with the elegant ambience of the Raffles Town Club Dunearn Ballroom. It was befitting of the occasion.

Peggy Tan
AAS 56th Anniversary Celebration Committee

Photo Credits:

Mr Chris Tan Tze Yong 
MrJames Oon 
Mr Jay Gark Kung 
Mr Sunny Lai 
Mr Tan Geng Hui (http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

More photos…